What you need to know

The Subcommittee on the HASS Requirement (SHR) is a permanent subcommittee of the Committee on the Undergraduate Program (CUP). Its membership includes one faculty chair from the School of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences (SHASS); and in addition, one faculty member from each of the five Schools; two undergraduates; and ex officiis, nonvoting members the Vice Chancellor, the Dean for SHASS, or their designated representatives. The Registrar's Office provides administrative support. For more information about SHR, email hass_sub@mit.edu.

2021-2022 Subcommittee on the HASS Requirement

Emily Richmond Pollock, SHR Chair, Music
Patricia Fernandes, Executive Officer and Assistant Dean for the Communication and HASS Requirements



William Deringer

Science, Technology, and Society (STS)

Mark Drela Aeronautics and Astronautics

Aram Harrow


Erin Kelly*


Skylar Tibbits




Nitya Parthasarathy '22

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science 

Kathryn Tso '22

Materials Science and Engineering

Ex officio


Andrea Campbell

Designated Representative, Dean of SHASS

Hiromu Nagahara

Designated Representative, Vice Chancellor



Andrea Wirth

SHASS Academic Administrator



Kara Cunningham  Staff Associate 

*On leave — Fall 2021 and Spring 2022​