What you need to know

The MIT grade point average (GPA) is calculated on a 5.0 scale. Your cumulative GPA displays on your grade report (internal record) and on your transcript (external record). Your term GPA displays on your grade report only. If you enroll in both undergraduate and graduate degrees at MIT, you will have separate GPAs for each.

Some key points to remember:

  • The following are not included in the calculation:
    • Subjects with a grade of P, S, URN, SA, T
    • Subjects, if not completed, with a grade of I, OX, J, U
    • Grades earned from Advanced Standing Exams (ASEs)
    • ROTC subjects
  • Since P grades are not used in calculating GPA, first-year students will not have a GPA until the spring semester concludes.
  • A repeated subject counts in your GPA each time you take it.

How to calculate your GPA

Grades used in the calculation if your GPA are weighted as follows: A=5, B=4, C=3, D=2, F=0, O=0.

  • To calculate your GPA, total all the units of A-level work and multiply this number by 5. Then, total all units of B-level work and multiply by 4 and so on.
  • When you complete an ongoing subject, other than thesis, take the sum of the units of J grade received in prior terms and apply the final grade to the total.
  • Add the results and divide by the total number of units.
  • Round to the first place after the decimal point. If the hundredth place is 5 or above, the tenth place rounds up (4.75=4.8). If the hundredth place is 4 or below, the tenth place rounds down (4.74=4.7).
  • For a master’s level thesis, a maximum of 24 units is used in your GPA calculation; doctoral level thesis units (which receive the grade of SA) are not included.

GPA conversions

  • Three MIT credit units are equal to one semester hour.
  • To convert your GPA to a 4.0 scale, substitute the following values in the calculation above: A=4, B=3, C=2, D=1, F=0, O=0.
  • Conversion to a 4.0 scale is not valid for students who attended MIT prior to 1970.