What you need to know

Named to honor the life and contributions of the late Margaret MacVicar, Professor of Physical Science and Dean for Undergraduate Education, the MacVicar Faculty Fellows Program recognizes faculty who have made exemplary and sustained contributions to the teaching and education of undergraduates at MIT.


The program was established in 1991 by former MIT President Charles M. Vest. The Fellows hail from every corner of the Institute and together, they form an academy of scholars committed to exceptional instruction and innovation in education. Vest noted:

“Educational success at MIT depends, above all else, on the commitment and inventiveness of our faculty. Excellence in undergraduate teaching must be rewarded and encouraged. To this end, we are establishing an endowed program to recognize faculty members who have profoundly influenced our students through their sustained and significant contributions to teaching and curriculum development.”

The MacVicar Faculty Fellows are selected through a competitive annual nomination process. They represent a diverse range of academic disciplines, embodying through their work the continuing promise of an MIT education for the future.

Contact us at macvicarprogram@mit.edu with questions.