What you need to know

The Subcommittee on the Communication Requirement (SOCR) is a permanent subcommittee of the Committee on the Undergraduate Program (CUP). Its membership includes one faculty co-chair from the School of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences (SHASS) and one faculty co-chair from the School of Engineering or the School of Science; and in addition, one faculty member from each of the five Schools; two undergraduates; and ex officiis, the Vice Chancellor, the Dean of SHASS, and the head of Comparative Media Studies/Writing, or their designated representatives. The Registrar's Office provides administrative support. For more information about SOCR, email socr@mit.edu.

2022-2023 Subcommittee on the Communication Requirement

Andrea Campbell, SHASS Co-chair, Political Science
Aram Harrow, School of Science Co-chair, Physics
Kathleen MacArthur, Executive Officer and Associate Dean for Curriculum and Faculty Support



Gabriella Carolini Urban Studies and Planning (spring only)
Jeff Gore  Physics
Caitlin Mueller Civil and Environmental Engineering
Robin Scheffler Science, Technology and Society
TBD Sloan School of Management Representative


Jordan Billings ‘23 Undergraduate Representative
David Morgan ‘24 Undergraduate Representative (spring only)

Ex officio

Caley Horan  Designated Representative, Dean of SHASS 
Edward Schiappa Designated Representative, Head of Comparative Media Studies/Writing
Wiebke Denecke  Designated Representative, Vice Chancellor


Nicole Dillie Administrative Assistant
Thomas Scahill  Senior Staff Associate