MacVicar Day 2020

Learning Through Experience: Education for a Fulfilling and Engaged Life

Friday, March 13 (CANCELED)


  • TojumiOluwa "Towa" Adegboyega '20, aeronautics and astronautics
  • William Broadhead, associate professor of history
  • Grace Chuan '21, electrical engineering and computer science
  • Rick Miller, president of Olin College of Engineering
  • Steven Truong '20, biological engineering
  • Maria Yang, professor of mechanical engineering and faculty undergraduate director of D-Lab

MacVicar Day 2019

The Educated Student: Thinking and Doing for the 21st Century

Friday, March 8, 2019


  • Fadi Atieh '20, physics
  • Divya Goel '19, electrical engineering and computer science
  • Caspar Hare, professor of philosophy
  • Katie O'Nell '19, brain and cognitive sciences
  • Sanjay Sarma, vice president for Open Learning and the Fred Fort Flowers (1941) and Daniel Fort Flowers (1941) Professor of Mechanical Engineering
  • Susan Silbey, Leon and Anne Goldberg Professor of Humanities, Sociology, and Anthropology and professor of behavioral and policy sciences at the Sloan School of Management
  • Michael Sipser, Donner Professor of Mathematics and dean of the school of science

Video: MacVicar Day Symposium — March 8, 2019

MIT News article: Celebrating passionate teachers and enthusiastic learners

MacVicar Day 2018

Inclusive Pedagogies: Building a Vibrant Community of Learners at MIT

Friday, March 9, 2018


  • Catherine Drennan, Professor of Biology
  • Eric Klopfer, Professor and Director of the Scheller Teacher Education Program
  • Katrina LaCurts, Lecturer, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
  • Christine Ortiz, Professor of Materials Science and Engineering
  • Meredith Thompson, Research Scientist, Teaching Systems Lab

Video: MacVicar Day Symposium — March 9, 2018

MIT News article: Innovation fosters inclusive teaching at MIT

MacVicar Day 2017

Pushing Boundaries: A Legacy of Learning Through Innovation and Discovery

Friday, March 17, 2017


  • Anantha Chandrakasan, Vannevar Bush Professor and Head of the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
  • Neil Gershenfeld, Director of the Center for Bits and Atoms and Professor of Media Arts and Sciences
  • Anne McCants, Professor of History and Director of Concourse
  • Ian Waitz, Dean of the School of Engineering and Jerome C. Hunsaker Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics

Video: MacVicar Day Symposium — March 17, 2017

MacVicar Day 2016

From Hand to Mind: Advances in Evidence-based Teaching

Friday, March 11, 2016


  • Martin Culpepper, Professor of Mechanical Engineering
  • Michael Cuthbert, Associate Professor of Music
  • David Darmofal, Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics
  • Catherine Drennan, Professor of Biology
  • Robert Miller, Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
  • Janet Rankin, Interim Director of the Teaching & Learning Laboratory

Video: MacVicar Day Symposium — March 11, 2016

MacVicar Day 2015

Undergraduate Education Goes Global: Learning from the MIT-SUTD Collaboration

Friday, March 13, 2015


  • John Brisson, Director of the MIT-SUTD Collaboration Office, Professor of Mechanical Engineering
  • John Fernandez, Professor of Architecture
  • Diana Henderson, Professor of Literature
  • Chris Kaiser, Professor of Biology
  • Samson Lim, Assistant Professor of Humanities Arts and Social Science, Singapore University of Technology and Design
  • Lawrence Sass, Associate Professor of Architecture
  • Karen Hao '15, Mechanical Engineering

MacVicar Day 2014

Creating a Network of Mentors: A Roundtable

Friday, March 14, 2014


  • David Darmofal, Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics
  • Nergis Mavalvala, Curtis (1963) and Kathleen Marble Professor of Astrophysics
  • Leslie Norford, Professor of Architecture
  • Justin Bullock '14, Chemical Engineering

MacVicar Day 2013

Reimagining the MIT Classroom: Experiments with Digital Learning

Friday, March 15, 2013


  • Jesús A. del Alamo, Donner Professor of Electrical Engineering
  • Anette (Peko) Hosoi, Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering
  • Anne E. C. McCants, Professor of History and Director of Concourse
  • Emma J. Teng, Associate Professor of Chinese Studies and the T.T. and Wei Fong Chao Professorship in Asian Civilizations
  • Troy Van Voorhis, Professor of Chemistry

MacVicar Day 2012

Innovations in Undergraduate Education at MIT: Past, Present, and Future in the Tradition of Margaret MacVicar and Robert Silbey

Friday, March 16, 2012


  • Linda G. Griffith, School of Engineering Teaching Innovation Professor of Biological and Mechanical Engineering
  • Moungi G. Bawendi, Lester Wolfe Professor of Chemistry
  • John M. Essigmann, William and Betsy Leitch Professor of Toxicology and Chemistry and Housemaster, Simmons Hall
  • William Broadhead, Class of '54 Career Development Associate Professor of History
  • Arthur W. Bahr, Associate Professor of Literature
  • Joel Yuen '07, Ph.D. Candidate in Chemical Physics at Harvard University
  • Robert P. Redwine, Professor of Physics and Director of the Bates Linear Accelerator

MacVicar Faculty Fellows Lecture Series

Thoughts on the Future of Engineering Education at MIT

Wednesday, November 2, 2011


  • Professor Ian Waitz, MacVicar Faculty Fellow and Dean of Engineering

MacVicar Day 2011

Energy Education Showcase: Preparing Tomorrow's Leaders

Wednesday, March 9, 2011


  • Professor Robert Jaffe (8.21)
  • Professor Donald Lessard (15.031J)
  • Professor Leon Glicksman (4.42J)
  • Moderated by Professor Vladimir Bulovic

MacVicar Day 2010

Blended Learning Revisited

Wednesday, March 10, 2010


  • John Seely Brown
  • Dava Newman SM '89, PhD '92
  • John Belcher

MacVicar Day 2009

New Directions in General Education at MIT

Friday, March 6, 2009


  • Professor Dennis Freeman, Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
  • Professor Haynes Miller, Math
  • Profesor Alex Techet, Mechanical Engineering
  • Professor Janet Sonenberg, Music & Theatre Arts

MacVicar Day 2008

Why Not Try a Scientific Approach to Science Education?

Sunday, March 7, 2018


  • Dr. Carl Wieman ’73